Design Process For the Alien Typeface

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.29.08The first thing I did was open the image in Illustrator and started tracing around the letter with the pen tool however when I removed the background it just didn’t look great so I thought I would take different approach to it. The lines looked to monkey and it just wasn’t as accurate as I wanted it to be. I need to use guides to hep with the hight and width of each individual letter. When I found that this technique wasn’t working, I decided to find myself a new method or a different style for my alien typography.

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.29.49My next idea was to add a white line through the bold black letter to see what kind of effect this would produce. It looked quite different however it wasn’t the look I was going for, however I did think I could make a new style of typography out of it.

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.30.08Taking inspiration from the previous design I came up with this idea that was a lot thinner and has a lot more edges so it’s not as smooth as my previous design. I thought that changing the style of the design. It looked really cool and different however I preferred the original design so I went back to it and worked on it some more and get the quality of work I wanted.

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.31.47This is my final design. I really like how it turned out in the end , the chunkiness of the text works really well on its own in the middle of the page plus I think that the white text works better on a black page unlike the reverse of black text on a white background. This works really well and I think that the combination of these symbols and letter forms fulfils the need and expectation of the brief plus is quite an interesting piece of portfolio work.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

