Reflective Evaluation

Evaluation and Reflection:

1) Visual Communication:

  • In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?  I think one way that my work and design meets the brief in a visual communication / message sense is by being able to communicate with the audience using visual elements and visual language as the brief sates “Developed and experimented with appropriate media, aesthetics and visual language”. I think I have shown this through my work by combining both photography and text together in a way that they work well and complement each other. My work also meet the brief as I have used all my own photographs which I took during the course of this project.
  • In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief? I think that one thing from my project that failed to meet the brief was by “Explored the relationship between research and practice” more and maybe not responding to other photographers that I had researched.
  • What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why? I think are quite a few strong parts of the visual communication used in my project one being the photographs taken. I did lots of experimenting with photography so this is why my photographs have improved. Further more I think due to my page layout research, the design and layout of each of my double page spreads looked really good and all had different styles of layout which all worked and flowed together nicely. Within my typographic work I was able to make it look as neat and organised to suit the page style plus I add a drop cap at the begging of each paragraph as I thought it added a bit of character to it by at the same time making it look professional as well as aesthetically pleasing.
  • What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why? There is limited colour throughout my design which might not appeal to some people as they might find it too bleak and dull plus some of my pages are a bit empty again applying the same thing.
  • In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.  Personally I don’t think that any of my designs could be mis-read or mis-understood due to the fact that I was really careful about this when designing it. I wanted my design to be clear and easier to understand and I think I was able to achieve this.
  • In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved? In design there is always room from improvement and I think that my designs could have been developed further in the sense of choosing typefaces that work well together, maybe considered more about what paper would suit the design and ordered some sample paper form the company G.F smith who came and did a workshop with us earlier on in the year.

    2) Reflection of own working practices:

  • How was my time keeping? At the beginning of the project I got a bit behind and was a bit of a slow starter however once I had decided what I wanted to achieve I made up time and even got a bit ahead of everyone.
  • How was my analysis of the brief? I think I found the analysis of the brief quite easy I knew what I had to do and what was needed to get a curtain grade. Also as I took more of an interest into this project, I think I was more willing to learn and understand.
  • How was my research? My research for this project was quite thorough although looking back there is probably more I could have done to have helped the designing and making process.
  • How did I draw conclusions from my research? I was able to make conclusions from my research as the research was in-depth and was relevant to the project. The research sometimes linked to other posts and most of the time researching one thing helped me to discover what I needed to research next. By doing research I was able to come to a conclusion on what my chosen environment should be and without doing that crucial bit of research I would never have been able to have come to that decision.
  • How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?  I did a lot of research before the designing stage which initially helped start the idea generation process. However half way through the design process I found myself constantly looking back at my research for some more inspiration and looking at the photographers work I had previously liked and looked into.
  • How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development? By evaluating your work as you go really helps with development as this makes you aware of what needs changing and what you would like to achieve. It makes you reflect on your work so you can really see what you think of it and if there is anyway you could improve it.
  • How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective? As I had a new camera, I did a lot of experimenting with it to see what style of photography I was best at and this then allowed me to base my designs around this. I could have done some more experimentation on the designing process of page layout as this might have produced some more amazing ideas or suggestions.
  • In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time? Throughout the project I kept referring back to the brief to see if I had completed all the learning outcomes, I also based my blog posts around the brief with clear titles to show I had fulfilled the briefs learning outcomes.
  • What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case? I actually really enjoyed the whole project. It was nice to do something different and I loved the photography side to it.
  • What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case? It was probably the writing of the articles as I found it hard to stay within the word count.
  • At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at al times? The same as the last project, the making process I was more productive at college as I was able to ask for help if needed and I could as my friends for their opinion on my work. However when I was doing blog work I found it easier to do it at home where I couldn’t get distracted.
  • What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up? Looking at other people’s Photography and double page spreads, it really gave me that drive to create something in that style and taking some amazing photography.
  • What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case? I’m not sure if found anything really challenging or difficult, I really enjoy this style of work so nothing I found too difficult.
  • Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later? I feel proof reading is a really important skill as well as doing test prints as this helps highlight spelling mistakes and also faults in the design and layout. It’s good to develop these skills now as it help you become more aware of mistakes and printing errors in the future.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

