The Design Process

After all the amount of research I had done for this research it was time to start creating my double page spread in Indesign. The first step was to create the correct size document  to match the brief. The brief stated that the document size had to be 200mm X 200mm.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.15.59Here you can see the setting I made to create the document. I made both the width and hight 200mm, I also added 3 columns as I knew from my previous research into grid structures that this can help with design layout and getting elements of the page accurate sizes and also help with alignment. I also set the Intent of the document as ‘Print” as this helps with printing knowing the purpose of the document. After changing all these settings the next thing to do is press okay to start using the document.

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.16.46Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.17.02 Once I had completed the document making , the next step was create enough pages and layout for the double page spreads. In the pages panel, I added an additional four double pages of 200mm X 200mm, you can see this in the image on the far left. The image on the right to that shows all the pages with the grids and columns. This is where I will creating my designs and adding text. This set up is perfect giving me control over my design and will help give me perspective over placement of all the elements making me more aware of my design and the impact it will have on the audience.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.20.43Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.21.03I decided that I would start with the Crystal double page spread first and from my sketches I had a brief idea on what I wanted to achieve. So I chose one of my photographs that I took from the crystal in London. The photograph I chose was one where I had capture the point of the building which I thought gave a feeling of depth due to the angle in which It was taken. It gave the impression that it was towering over you, presenting the feeling of dominance. I opened up this image in Photoshop as I wanted to cut out the background of the images and just have the building. I did this by using the polygon tool where I cut around the edge of the building. I then while the building was selected, I inverted the selection of the building by clicking on select then Inverse.

As you can see from the image with the crystal in it that this was the outcome of cutting out the background, I then needed to save it in a format that was compatible with indesign. So I decided that I would save it as a JPEG, as I know I had used these before in that software and the images came as a good quality image with no blur.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.22.53Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.27.58

Here are the first stages of the crystal double page spread. The First images just shows how I placed the cut out image from Photoshop. I wanted the building to look like it’s coming up from the bottom of the page. I then Had the problem with text placement for the title. From my research into double page spreads I recalled this design that had text horizontal and diagonal. So in the second image I chose to have the text on a diagonal and I also wanted to have a big, bold text that represented the type of building the crystal is.

Here above show all the developments of my designs. I thought that by having just a small amount of text on one page would look empty plus it might look like it floating. So I thought it might look nice to add some lines above and below the text to give it an anchor point and help the page not look so empty.

The big title on the first page, I used Arial Black as I really like the big bold look and it really complimented the image and the style of the page. I really wanted to choose and font that worked well with the title. I went on the internet and looked in some of the books I got from the Library and it gave me a list of what fonts work well together. The information I found was that Lucida Grande works really well with Arial Black. The style of paragraph I chose for my text was last line justify to the left.

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 16.21.02Originally I filled the text with place holder text, just to give me an idea on what my page would look like with actual text in it. After this I typed up my article for this double page spread which had to be at least 50-100 words. Once I had my official text and paragraphs sorted out, I wanted to sort out the text spacing and add a drop cap on the first letter of the block of text.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.29.50Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.30.08To add a drop cap on the beginning word I had to go to the right hand side of Indesign where there is an icon with three lines, when pressed a drop down box will appear and then just click on ‘Drop caps and Nested styles’. The a dark grey box will appear where you can adjust how many lines the chosen letter will drop, I chose 2.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.30.18Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.30.28Finally with the text I wanted to use the justification method which I have used in previous lessons with Tim to help with text spacing. I made the medium letter spacing -5% and maximum 5%, Glyph scaling minimum 97% and maximum 103%. This made the text look neater and just brought it all together.

I also used the grids and columns to help with placing of the design and text.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.34.12

I basically did the same process for every single double page spread however I am going to to talk about the typographic choices for each page and maybe talk a bit about the photography.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.34.21Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.33.53

The photography I chose for the Dungeness trip was a landscape image with is a bit different to the other photographs I have used. What I like about this image how you can see quite a few different types of environment for example: water, sand, grass and reeds. I also thought about making the image black and white however I thought that my designs could do with a bit colour so I edited the photography to have grey tones alongside the original colours from the photograph. I chose Helvetica Neue typeface for my main title for the double page spread. I thought that the slight boldness worked well with the image and overall design. I also like how I splint the word into two to make the page feel less empty.  The font I chose to work alongside the Helvetica Neue title was Bodoni 72 . Due to research I found that these typefaces work well together as one is a serif and there other a san serif. I also like how the photograph takes up most of the page, it looks striking and shows what the atmosphere at Dungeness was like.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.35.48Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.35.56Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.36.52

This is like an introduction to my chosen environment. I really like the micro photograph of the dandelion. You can see all the individual sees and it just gives the photograph a smooth and interesting look. The text on the opposite page really reflects my chosen environment because I have made the text small and spaced out to resemble micro photography. I thought I looked really effective just having a tiny bit of text in the middle of a page against one big image. The font I used was Minion Pro which I then continued onto the next page.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.40.28Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.40.55Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.41.43

This is my final double page spread which again is very simple with tiled images in back and white against a white background. I really like the tones from the close up objects especially the fossil. I made three columns of text as the article had to be between 200-400 words. I also added page numbers on very single page to help with consistency. I’m pleased with how my final design looked and hope to do a project like this again.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

