Double page spread set tutorial

In todays lesson we were put to the test where we had to complete a list of things that are required in a double page spread that we have been taught in Indesign during the past year. The list went as follows

  • New A5 Portrait document
  • 3 columns with 3mm gutters
  • Fill with placeholder text at 10pt
  • Add 4 line drop cap in colour
  • Apply text to baseline shift
  • Take off hyphenation
  • Justify type with last line aligned left
  • Download ‘Ducky’ file from moodle
  • Add clipping mask to duck in photoshop and save as EPS file
  • Bring into indesign and make it by the size 70×75
  • Add text wrap for the photoshop path
  • add page numbers

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 15.11.36So the first thing I did was create a new document that was A5 and was portrait. In the same setting, I then added 3 columns with 3mm gutters.  On this setting you can also edit the bleed and slug of the page. Once I had got all the correct information in the right place I then presses okay to make the document.

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 15.11.16

This is what the set up of the page looks like with three columns with a 3mm gutter between each bScreen Shot 2017-04-24 at 16.00.09ox. In the columns is where I will create the text boxes. So the next step I did was creating text boxes and filling them with place holder text which is used to help visualise what a page will look like when the text is in place helping with page layout and design. The way to do this is by creating a text box to the correct and accurate size then while the textbook is selected to the type box in the tool bar, go right down to the bottom of the drop down box and select the option that says “Fill with placeholder text”. Once I had create done I needed to create 5 more so I copied and pasted the existing text into the text box then a small read box by pressing that I was able to continue the text onto other textbooks to fill the whole page. The list also requested that the text was at a 10pt which I did by selecting all the text.

 

 

The next two steps was adding a 4 line drop cap in colour and applying text to baseline shift. The images below show how I achieved these requirements from the list.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 15.51.15Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 16.04.06
The next step is what I covered in my last post about justifying the text , changing the minimum and maximum of the letter spacing and Glyph scaling. I’m not going to describe the whole process again, if you want to look at that process go and look at my previous post.

 

To get the ducks background removed we had to open the duck up in photoshop and use the magic wand to get rid of the white and then invert it. The next step was to click on the path panel in photoshop I then had to click on the clipping path selection to make sure it becomes a clipping mask when opened in indesign. I then saved it as an EPS file.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 15.55.52To get the text to wrap around the duck I had to go on text warp setting and make sure that the settings are right like making sure the type was on photoshop path and that the wrap style was all around the image.  You can also chose how close the text is to the image. I went with 3 mm as I thought this looked a good distance and it was still read able.

The final thing I had to do was adding page numbers and the way to do it is going on the A-master page create a text box then clicking the type box then insert special character, markers then current page number.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 15.50.39

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 15.52.51

This is the final outcome and I’m pleased that I was able to achieve most of the list. This shows that my skills in the creative suit software has improved since the start of the year. All these skill that I’ve presented on this post will help with the double page spread and how the text will be presented.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

