Reflective evaluation

Evaluation and Reflection:

1) Visual Communication:

  • In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief? As the brief states “an A2 print poster that describes and visualises an aspect of production that has many ethical consequences (perhaps both good and bad)”, I know what as a group and read the brief together and we talked about the ethnical consequences of cut flowers as we did a lot of research into it as none us knew anything about the cut flower industry. We made an A2 posters that included graphics that helped symbolise the facts and statements we were making. The brief also stated “include it’s impacts, sustainability, economics, human rights and so on” which we did include and you can see this on my final design post.
  • In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?  This project was being marked on graphic design and typography, I think we met the brief with the graphic design however they typography on the poster was actually shocking. It wasn’t aligned, it looked too squashed and over all just looked a mess. As a personal improvement by looking back at the brief I should have done more research into typography and what fonts would work well together and look at examples of existing type faces that have been paired together.
  • What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?  I wouldn’t say there are many strengths of our posters visual communication however we did use quite a lot of icons that helped support the statements which I think would help the audience visualise the facts and information better plus I think that the illustrations of the two women at the bottom of the page emphasised the two defined sides of the cut flower industry.
  • What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why? Well the design just looked to crowded and had no flow, the typography was just all over the place as well as the layout of the page, the icons next to text was just out-of-place and sometimes just really didn’t work. There was no set colour scheme and I think that if we had one this would have bought the whole poster together more. We focus so much on the actual information way too much and should have spent more time on the designing stage. We really let ourselves down on this part of the design and in result didn’t have a very good outcome or final poster.
  • In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is. I think one way I poster could have been miss-understood is that they might no be sure what the poster is trying to say, as we included both good and bad points of the cut flower industry (Like it says in the brief) and I think this might make some people confused as our idea was that if we give them a mixture of both good and bad facts then they can make their own minds up on what they think is right or wrong.
  • In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved? Well the layout definitely needs changing and I’ve already got some ideas on how to go about this, we need to add a set colour scheme to follow as this will bring the whole project together and will give it that flow so everything links.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

  • How was my time keeping? For this project my time keeping was not good at all, I think I spent way too long working on the website project rather than splinting my time equally so that I could manage two projects at once. I think we also spent way too much time on the researching part which then put has behind on the making front which made us rush and not produce a piece of work to a high standard.
  • How was my analysis of the brief? I think that my actual analysis of the brief was quite good as I was able to understand what was being asked of me and what needed to be  included. I kept referring back to the brief during the blog process however due to rushing the making process we missed quite a bit off the brief that needed to be included on the poster.
  • How was my research? I think that our research was the strongest part of the project, we knew a lot about our topic and understood it well, we looked at other sources as well as articles as we looked at videos and graphs to give us a bigger range of information. The research helped us understand the important ethics behind our topic, even though we did a lot of research we still found the topic quite difficult and had a hard time trying to present it in a different way that would make it appealing.
  • How did I draw conclusions from my research? I think from the research we did the conclusion I drew from it was everything we use in our day-to-day lives has an ethical impact on the world in one way or another. Especially with the cut flowers it was difficult as obviously having flowers imported all the way from Kenya is bad for the environment. However in doing that you are giving poor people in Kenya jobs where they can start to earn a living and if you stop that then your going to take their lively hood away. It was a very controversial topic and this is where we found all the facts for the poster.
  • How did I use research to generate and develop ideas? I used my research to generate ideas as by knowing simple facts about the topic like geographical location, the amount of facts need etc can help you to start generating new ideas plus this can also help to develop new ones. As a group we had a big blank piece of paper where we did like idea generation but with mini sketches instead of words.
  • How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development? I didn’t do too much evaluating throughout this project however through some independent research about existing infographics and my own sketches did actual help and add-on to the idea generation process, plus I did evaluate the two workshops we did last week and these again gave me inspiration and then when I evaluated them on the blog this again added to development and idea generation process.
  • How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective? I think that there could have been more experimentation individually and as a group however I do think this is down to poor time management skills. If we had done more experimenting  with sketches and digital processes we might have come up with a better poster also this where we could have used the idea generation process. We should have experimented with colour schemes, semiotics and these techniques that we have learnt over the past year would all have given us a more sufficient poster.
  •  In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time? I have achieved most of the learning out comes as the brief says “Explored and understood the practical constraints of a design brief”. I think I was able to achieve this due to the amount of research we did as a group there are others that I have achieved in the brief but I’m not going to mention them all. There is one big thing that defiantly needs work on was the lack of research into typography, should have looked at the history and compare some fonts together and see what we got. These are some improvements for the next project.
  • What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case? I quite liked the research part of the project, I got to learn new things about cut flowers that I didn’t know before plus I also liked looking at existing infographic posters as I loving looking at different designs and getting inspiration for design, layout and even colour schemes.
  • What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case? I think even though I really liked the people in my group I just don’t think we knuckled down hard enough, the making process was just so stressful and we had lost all inspiration as I think deep down we didn’t like the topic so there was no passion behind it which is a terrible excuse.
  • At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at al times? I think I say this is every evaluation but when it comes to the digital process I work better at uni as I’m able to ask for opinions and help if needed, however when I’m blogging I work better at home as there is less to get distracted by and I can be on my own and get in the zone of blogging.
  • What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up? I’m not sure that anything in this project really inspired me however I will now myself try to buy locally grown cut flowers as I know the environmental impact it has.
  • What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case? I think the whole topic was kind of challenging and difficult especially trying to use facts that were 100% true as many websites gave different facts and statistics plus we wanted to avoid fake news as this is going round quite a lot at the moment.
  • How can I go about developing and improving  the parts I found difficult? I suppose doing further research into the topic and referencing all websites and sources used to make sure they are official and giving the correct information out.
  • Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later? I think that skills that need improving now are working better as a team and time keeping skills as these will be desired skill in the design industry and if you can’t work well as a team or keep to a deadline then this could make you unemployable.

     

     

     

     

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

