Reflective evaluation

Evaluation and Reflection:

1) Visual Communication:

  • In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief? I think that my web design meets the need of the brief via visual communication as the brief talks about graphic design and web layout, it talks about the practicality and effectiveness of the website and aesthetics of the website all linking to visual communication. Also the website is to promote your portfolio and you as a graphic designer so this is all to do with visual communication and how this is portrayed to the audience. I have done many posts in my blog to support this by looking at existing websites and about my own design I have talked about the practicality and the accessibility of it and who this might affect the overall visual communication.
  • In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief? When looking at the brief and at the visual communication and seeing what I haven’t achieved it was looking into more depth about type and layout. I should have done a post about how having a font / typography that suits the layout of the website gives it an appeal factor and that linking elements of a website can have a big impact on the audiences perspective of the design.
  • What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why? Well I think the strengths of visual communications in my web design is the layout and sleek but well thought out colour scheme. The simple black and white colour scheme makes the website looks professional and aesthetically pleasing plus the mixture of photography and illustration makes the website more appealing plus due to the white background no colours clash. I also think the layout complements the design style and a simple design can sometimes have more impact.
  • What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why? I think that the weakness of my visual communication is that the whole website isn’t very interactive, there isn’t a lot of buttons to press or transitions of photos and work etc. So if I were to make another website using this software I would make sure that the website included more interactive things to do to make my website more exciting and make my website more interesting for the audience.
  • In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.  I did think about this when designing my website, I really wanted to make my website clear and so there was less confusion. However there is always some possibility that someone will miss-understand what the website is about. One thing I thought about that might confuse people is that there is a photograph as the main image on the home page, this might give the impression that the website is about photography however my logo does say Graphic Design within in so this could eliminate some confusion. I have also linked my social media sites plus my WordPress blog which will give them further information so this is how I have used designing and researching effectively.
  • In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved? A design is never perfect and always be improved, with my design I have lots of things that I wanted to do but never achieved. On the portfolio page I wanted to be able to click on the photo of my work and it enlarge and fit the whole page, I couldn’t work out how to achieve this even after googling it so I had to let the idea go. The reason behind it was the images of my work were too small and I wanted people to be able to view them in a bigger format. The layout was okay and it worked with the overall design and style however if I had used my time more wisely I could have found a better layout that was more interesting and more exciting than the one I’m currently using.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

  • How was my time keeping? I thought that my time keeping skills were okay, not as good as some previous projects as I found using the software quite difficult so that made a delay on the making process as it took me ten times longer. I left lots my blogging to the last minuet which probably wasn’t the best thing to do.
  • How was my analysis of the brief? I found decoding the brief for this project slightly more difficult than the previous project, this could be because I’m not familiar with web design or that I just found it a bit harder. From reading the brief I knew that researching other websites would be a big part in the project as well as a lot of annotations with screen shots of my own designs. It also stated that I needed to talk about the aesthetics and practicality of my designs to show that I had learnt something from my research.
  • How was my research? I thought that my research was quite in-depth and relatable to the project set. I looked into existing websites alongside looking at web design theories and other websites that inspired me. I also compared what it would have been like to use another software to make the website. The research I made played a role in the development stages and producing the final outcome.
  • How did I draw conclusions from my research? By doing research this helped decide what I wanted my work to look like or contain a curtain style. My research inspired me and further more helped with the designing and making process. Research is a very important part of the making process and can also help with idea generation.
  • How did I use research to generate and develop ideas? Well I mainly focused on layout to help generate ideas however the research I made into the layout design helped define and develop my ideas further also researching into complementary colours also really helped the development stage.
  • How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development? During any part of the project/ processes I would evaluate as this can also help with improving ideas and the development of the overall project. By evaluating my work as I go it shows my development and can help with improvement of designs and ideas. I found evaluating as I go along very helpful as it makes you think more about why you chose to do this rather than just doing it as you want to get it done.
  •  How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective? I didn’t do a lot of experimenting in this project however I did do many versions of my website due to technical difficulties although you could see this as various experimentation as every single one is different plus I did learn from my mistakes each time and did help with the development process.
  •  In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?  In the brief one of the learning outcomes state ‘Considered the aesthetic and practical issues concerning web page design, including navigation, image preparation and issues regarding the end-user and accessibility‘. I know that I have achieved this learning outcome as I did individual blog posts talking about whether I had applied this to my website and if so how and how I could improve it. I talked about navigation, imagery, practical issues and layout. You see this in my blog to support this statement.
  • What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case? I didn’t really have a favourite part to this project however I did like seeing the final outcome and what it looked like.
  •  What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?I found this project quite difficult due to me not knowing how the software worked which then resulted with me getting really stressed and frustrated. I wouldn’t say this has been my favourite project as I’m not too keen on web design anyway but was open to learning and giving it a go.
  •  At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at al times? It really depended on what part of the project I was at as the making process I was more productive at college as I was able to ask for help if needed and I could as my friends for their opinion on my work. However when I was doing blog work I found it easier to do it at home where I couldn’t get distracted.
  •  What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up? Having the workshop with Light maker really inspired me which I made a blog post about and also doing research into other existing websites which I also did a blog post on which you can see on my blog.
  •  What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case?  I found the whole project quite challenging as we are working on two projects at the same time plus I wasn’t confident on using the software which I also found challenging.
  •  How can I go about developing and improving  the parts I found difficult? using the software more which will make me more confident and help improve my designs.
  •  Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later? I need to develop more skills in muse and making websites all together as many graphic designers are asked to make websites so this is a skill that needs developing now. 

     

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

