Evaluation and reflection

Evaluation and Reflection:

1) Visual Communication: 

  • In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?  I think that my book cover design meets the brief regarding visual communication / message as it includes the required information e.g the book title, authors names and blurb. I would also say I have achieved this as my designs on the front cover link well with the subject and were relevant to the task set, clearly resembling visual communication and messages to the audience. My design had elements of both science love which I combined into one design.
  • In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?  I would say that my design and project hasn’t necessarily failed the brief however there are aspects of it that I could have gone into more detail if I had made myself more time. For example my design doesn’t run off the edge of the page meaning I made my measurement slight out also I could have done more research into typography and experimented with a variety of different fonts and compared them. I would also like to have done more analysis into book layout and where things are placed and which layout is more effective and why. I also could have added more of a cultural theme as it is in the title but I never managed to fit it into my design and still look aesthetically pleasing.
  • What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why? I think the strengths of this project was I did quite a bit of research on existing penguin books and what the layout was like on them. I was also able to solve my own design problems and I evaluated and gave critique about my designs in the process and how I could improve it. I followed the brief by getting my own penguin book, getting measurements and apply practises from my research to my own ideas and designs.
  • What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why? a weakness of my design I suppose it that it might be miss read and the design is quite simplistic. There is always a chance that not everyone will understand your design and that’s all to do with semiotics, which there are very few of in my design. This is another weakness of my design and which if I could go back I would like to improve.
  • In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.  Leading on from the previous question, ways in which my design could be mis-read is that the love side of the design is very minimal and subtle so could be easily overlooked.
  • In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved? I suppose that I could have added more imagery as people might find the design boring, also I could add more colour and the range of colours used are very limited so that could also be an improvement. I could also play around with test placement and see if that improved the design.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

  • How was my time keeping? My time keeping was okay, it wasn’t as good as the previous project however we only had four days to complete the design side of things. At first I found it quite daunting it being a really short project, however I seemed to overcome that and get the design handed in on time.
  • How was my analysis of the brief? I would say my analysis of the brief was pretty good as I think I have fulfilled the briefs requirements, by completing the learning outcomes on brief sheet. Plus I based my blog posts around the brief as well.
  • How was my research? Due to the little time we had, I think my research was pretty good, my researched was varied, however my main focus was deep analysis of penguin books and their layouts eat. I also looked into the history of penguin publishing and talked about which books and designs inspired and interested me which was shown through my designs.
  • How did I draw conclusions from my research?  I looked at different sources, from my own books and the internet. I varied my research as I wanted to get as much information as possible. Looking at curtain designs really helped as I was able to portray this within my design.
  • How did I use research to generate and develop ideas? I did a lot of research before the designing stage which initially helped started the idea generation, however half way through the design process I found myself going back to research to help with more ideas and to help the development process and helped me produce my final piece.
  • How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development? By evaluating work as you go it can help as you can say what you don’t like about it helping you with improvements and also contributing to idea generation. It also helps you to be reflective of your work with then produces more ideas for the design process.
  • How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective? I did some experimentation during this project both digital and practical. I experimented with many different designs and layout, I also did a tea stained page and scanned it in as an experiment to see what it would look like. I could make this more effective by recording it more in my blog and also linking it more to the brief and design.
  • In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time? I achieved the learning outcomes as I explored and understood the practical constraints of a design brief while also evaluating design solutions.
  • What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case? I really enjoyed seeing the final design and what it looked like on an actual book as it gives me a sense of achievement and pride, plus I always enjoy the designing and making process as it’s the most creative part.    
  • What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case? There really wasn’t a part of the projected I didn’t like apart from the short deadline but i know I need to get used to this as it will be the same in the industry.
  • At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at al times? The same as the last project, the making process I was more productive at college as I was able to ask for help if needed and I could as my friends for their opinion on my work. However when I was doing blog work I found it easier to do it at home where I couldn’t get distracted.
  • What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up? Looking at old and existing penguin books really inspired me and quite enjoyed that part as it’s cool comparing old and new designs, and you see this as I’ve done a long blog post on it.
  • What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case? I always find the printing process challenging as sometimes it prints the wrong scale even though it’s the correct size on the computer, plus it takes so long however the result of the printing process is very rewarding.
  • How can I go about developing and improving  the parts I found difficult? By doing his process more and more I will find it easier and more natural, and will find it less stressful.
  • Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?  With me it’s always been proof reading my own work and accuracy of my designs . These skills will come with time however it’s good to start learning them now rather than later.
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

