Evaluation and Reflection Questions

1) Visual Communication:

  • In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?  I think that my project does meet the brief via means of visual communication and message. I think this as by referring to the brief it states  ‘Begun to explore theories of visual communication ‘. I have achieved this as we have looked many different versions of visual communications for example Process communication, semiotics and signifying practices. Semiotics can also be seen as a message as this can give impressions or messages about a piece of work due to the individual persons interpretation. For example I message I tried to get across on the front cover was the green parka, this was a semiotic for the Mods and this could give off many messages to different people.
  • In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?  There are some elements of the brief that I failed to meet for example applying semiotics to my subculture and my own designs. I had briefly done a post about semiotics and my subculture however not as much as would have liked to and I really would have liked to do a post about my designs and what semiotics and other visual communication theories I had used.
  • What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?  I think the strengths of my visual communication was that I was able to make a design that clearly resembled my subculture but in a more modern style. I followed the brief and was able to add the use of semiotics and other types of visual communication.  Another strength of this project was the research that I did towards it, looking at existing mod art work and showing what designs inspired me. I did lots of research into page layout and did many magazine analysis, this really helped when it came to designing my own double page spread layout. I have also show the process of my designs through out, showing how I have improved and the development of my designs.
  • What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why? I feel like one of my weaknesses was the lack of experimentation at the early stages of the design process. I really should have done more sketches and possibly a lot more of divergent thinking as this might have helped to get the design process quicker than I did. Plus I might have come up with more ideas and that might have suited the subculture more than my final finished piece. This always seems to be my down fall and I need to improve this in the next project. However By looking back at my old evaluation I have seen that I have improved since the last project as iI have worked on  time management and research into page layout.
  • In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is. I think that my idea could be mis-read or mis-understood if they had no clue at all who the mods were. The RAF target is a well know part of the mod culture however I have not included this on my front cover so this might confuse some readers, although the target is included in the double page spread. The colours I have also used aren’t exactly the same as the original, they are pastel versions so this again might be unclear or confuse some people. My mod illustration of a mod might not be recognisable to some readers which might also lead to confusion or uncertainty as well as the colours on the front cover not being round like the target but in straight lines which could look like a flag (someone has already mentioned this to me in class, about how it looks like the french flag).
  • In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?  During the design process, I did change the design many times to make it more practical for my target audience however there are always places where your work can be improved so further improvements that could be made to make my design to make it more practical would be size of the main image, maybe make it bigger as it’s the centre piece of the design. Also maybe placement of text could be moved and made bigger so that its seen more clearly.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

  • How was my time keeping? I think I did quite well with my time keeping on this project, much better than the previous project. I have been on track throughout the project. By keeping on task and having good time management skills I have been able to enjoy this project a lot more than the previous one.
  • How was my analysis of the brief? I kept looking back at the brief throughout the project to make sure I was relating and following the brief. I also wanted to make sure I was achieving all the learning outcomes as I didn’t want to miss anything out.
  • How was my research?  I think that my research was thorough and developed. I really wanted to cover all bases with research and as I found this topic really interesting I discovered that I naturally did more research. As the mods is a very interesting subculture there was so much to research. I also went into much more detail about design and layout which I needed to in this projects. Looked at existing magazines and creative reviews. Looked at mod artwork and overall did more research in this project than I did in the last one. I also done did  research to help with ideas and inspiration for sketches and original ideas.
  • How did I draw conclusions from my research? Well I looked at various different sources of research and existing mod art work and posters and from this I decided what look I was going for. I wanted my front cover to be different from any mod designs and make it unique. I knew I wanted to go with illustration rather than photography and that I didn’t want to many features on my illustrations. My page layout research really came in handy when it came round to sketching up my own ideas, but looking at a variety of different layouts it gave me lots of ideas on what my double page spread could look like and what layouts worked well.
  • How did I use research to generate and develop ideas? Well I focused mainly on my subculture to help generate ideas as it really need to communicate who the mods were and what their style was like. Page layout was another part of my research that helped generate ideas as page layout is a very important factor of design and if the page isn’t right people won’t be interested so I really need to get the layout correct, so that’s why I used it t help generate ideas.

 

  • How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?     By evaluating my work and processes as I went along it allowed me to reflect on my own work which then allowed me to develop my ideas and generate new ones from learning from my mistakes and helping to improve my designs and blog work.
  • How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective? I experimented with different styles layouts and effects, for example I wanted to add an ageing and distressed feel to my design so I added a stroke across my design, this experiment worked well as it ended up in my final design. However I know I could have developed this further and made it more effective by adding more of the effect to the rest of the design however I did continue this effect to the font, however I could make this more effective by carrying this out through the double page spread etc.

 

  • In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?  I applied research and referencing skills to my project, I was able to recognise relevant visual communication theories, I did research into my subculture and its history and I was able to use this research and apply it to my own work.
  • What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case? I enjoyed looking into the history of my subculture especially the fashion and music side of things. I really liked making designs for front covers and experimenting with page layout. I also loved playing around with colour pallets and design styles so over all I really enjoyed this project.
  • What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?  My least favourite part of the project was the printing process, I find it very stressful and it takes hours to do it. I really liked this project so I have nothing bad to say about it, so the my least favourite part of this project was the printing process.

 

  • At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at al times? It really depended on what part of the project I was at as the making process I was more productive at college as I was able to ask for help if needed and I could as my friends for their opinion on my work. However when I was doing blog work I found it easier to do it at home where I couldn’t get distracted.

 

  • What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up? Going to the 60’s exhibition trip really inspired me. I loved looking at their clothes and the music they listened to. Looking at all the posters and all the propaganda really inspired me to do more research and link others subcultures to my own. I have blog posts on these and you can see relevant posts on my blog.
  • What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case?  I found some parts of semiotics challenging especially the icon, symbol and Index. I think the reason for this is because they are very similar and sometimes they overlap in meaning so this is why I think I found it so difficult.
  • How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?  I could go about approving this by keeping going over the theories and trying to get the theories into my head.
  • Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later? I think one skill or process I need to get the hang off is proof reading my work, checking for spelling errors, grammar, placement of text and images. This is a skill I need to get the hang of it now as it will be good to get into the swing of it and make a habit of it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

