Good Design Evaluation (ethics)

  1.  In what ways have you considered the sustainability of your project process and outcomes? Well I did consider the sustainability of the project and the process, I didn’t print unless it was very important (for the PDF) , so that reduces paper waste. Plus my poster which was originally designed for a paper format, it could be shown on the TV screens around the factory again reducing paper waste and ink. Also by my design and message solely focussing on the environment and the fruits journey, gives a positive message and makes people more aware of their actions and how they effect the environment.
  2.  In what ways have you considered the ethical implications of your project process and outcomes?  Well while completing this project I did consider ethical implications my design could have on people. My main concern was offending the worker of the factory workers. I also wanted to include both men and women or make it uni sex as I didn’t want to seem sexist. I didn’t want to produce something that I’m not proud of.
  3.  In sustainability and ethical terms in what ways was your work in this project an improvement or a backward step for you as a socially conscious designer?  I think this has had a positive impact on me as this project was all about reducing waste to help the environment which I see as a positive. It has also helped people in the factory as we are directing designs to them on a level which they can understand due to the language barrier. So overall I see this as a positive.
  4. What targets can you make at this point for your work in the future as a socially conscious designer? One target I would set myself would be don’t commission or publish work that you would regret or would be ashamed to see my name by. Another target would be do research into a company and their ethics before saying yes to clients. And my final target would be stick to my beliefs and what I think is right and not to be scared to turn down work if we don’t believe in the company or cause.
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

