Evaluation

1) Visual Communication:

I think the visual communication and message in my project meets the need of the brief as it states that “Begun to explore theories of visual communication in relation to commercial and non-commercial design, especially advertising, and applied these to questions of ethics in design”. I Have achieved this as on my blog I have done research into visual communication theories and existing fruit campaigns and their advertising and talked about how effective they were and how I could apply them to my own designs and ideas.

I think that one way I have failed to meet due to the little research into semiotics and lack of idea generation. I could have done more historical research into artists and designs to help with the development of my ideas.

I think the strengths of my visual communication project is that  I was able to use research of others work (infographics and fruit campaigns) and use them as influence for my own work and to help achieve the clients needs and ideas. I have shown the processes I’ve been through and showed the progression of my ideas. I’ve also done some basic research into the company to help with design layout and style. Ive also taken previous research from our group work and included it in my individual project. By working in groups of mixed ability we were able to discus and help each other improve our ideas.

I feel like one of my weaknesses of this project was the lack of experimentation at the early stages of my designs. I did a few sketches but then went straight into digital designs as I was worried about time management . If I were to go back again I would do more brain storming and fast failure tasks like 100 ideas etc. I could possible have done more research into page layout as I thought this one of the weaknesses of my design so by looking at more examples of layout I might have produced a better outcome.

I think my design could be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience (factory workers) as it is impossible to unsure that everyone will understand your idea. My design had limited text due to the fact that very few of the workers speak english, so I tried to demonstrate the process through illustration. Some of my illustrations might be unclear to some people, plus the illustrations are very close together so might be too crowded to get the message across. Another factor is that as some of the workers are foreign, that they might not get some of the designs are they are my interpretation as being British.

I changed my design to make it more practical however there could be more changes made. One example of how I changed me design was I changed it to landscape to portrait as the design fitted better that way and looked more professional. I could have made the scale of the poster bigger so it would be easier to read and see.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

How was my time keeping?

It was okay, I wasn’t rushing to get it done on the night before, however the power point to present to the clients was rushed as I wasn’t sure what it should look like.

How was my analysis of the brief?

I kept looking back at the brief while completing the project to make sure I was relating and following the brief.

 

 

How was my research?

I’ve done some research to help with ideas and inspiration. I also did some research into the clients website for the colours and layout plus I researched visual communication theories to help design and layout. I could have done more research into artist to help with  colours and possible layout ideas.

 

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

Well I looked and various different sources of research and looked at what style I wanted my poster to be in. I wanted it to continue the cartoon like characteristics that we designed as a group, so all i needed to do was research layouts of existing infographics.

 

 

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

Well I focused mainly focused on layout of the infographics to help generated ideas on where and how I could present this infographic poster.

 

 

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

By evaluating my work as I went along, it allowed me to reflect on my work, then helping to develop and generate ideas that would improve my design dramatically.

 

 

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

Honestly I didn’t do a lot of experimenting as I thought I had less time then I did, this is one element that I dramatically needed to improve on.

 

 

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

I did research, I have shown awareness of semiotics and looked at visual communication theories .

 

 

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

I enjoyed working with the clients and seeing their reactions to our designs. Plus I quite liked the making process on illustrator as I quite enjoy that sort of thing.

 

 

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

I wasn’t so keen on presenting my ideas to the clients as I get very nervous so that was my least favourite thing about the project.

 

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at al times?

I work well in an environment where there are very few distractions and some background noise. I think this is because I can have my whole concentration and the sound in the background helps the creativity.

 

 

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?

The fruits journey really inspired as I could see it working really well as an infographic with cartoon like features.

 

 

What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case?

I found some aspects of my designs were difficult to create, so I had to discover a method myself which at some points was challenging.

 

 

 

How can I go about developing and improving  the parts I found difficult?

I could ask teachers or watch tutorials which can help reduce the difficulty of the task.

 

 

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

I think over time I will need to develop curtain skills, like being able to confidently present to a group of people and to develop software skill in more depth.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

