The Digital process

After drawing, sketching and researching l ideas for the Fruit factory campaign idea, I decided to make a digital version to see how it would look and if it suited the task and the clients needs. Another reason why I created a digital version was to check layout and composition of the design as I don’t want the design to be too cluttered and messy meaning the message and importance of the poster disappears. The images below will show the design process I went through to get to the end design.

screen-shot-2016-11-14-at-20-39-04

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-13-31-04The software I chose to use was Illustrator as I thought that this task and design would be easier to achieve using vector shapes. The first step was to create the earth and the centre in one image, like in my sketch. I was able to achieve this by creating a circle by using the ellipse tool from the shape button. To make sure that the inner circle was in the exact place as the outer circle and that it was an equal distance all around the outside, I copied and pasted the circle but by pressing
cmd c, then cmd f  as it pastes the image in the exact same place making it easier to resize and move shapes with more accuracy. Then I changed the outer circle a light, pastel green colour to make it look like grass and I then coloured the inner circle a light brown to act as the earth and mud.

screen-shot-2016-11-14-at-20-39-51

As the main idscreen-shot-2016-11-20-at-13-54-04ea, behind the design was to show the process the fruit goes through and I wanted to show it as a cycle because I though this might be easier to get the idea across as there is limited text and is very visual and it shows the fruits cycle step by step. So the next step was to get some ilscreen-shot-2016-11-20-at-13-53-51illustrations onto the ‘Haste not Waste’ cycle. The first step   of the fruit cycle is it growing, so with the pencil tool I drew a tree with pomegranates on it, with tufts of grass growing at the bottom of it. I made this all on one layer. To make the pomegranate, I got an image off google images and traced around it with the pen to help me get the right, then used the image to help get the correct colour by using the eye dropper tool and layering different coloured shapes using the pencil tool.
screen-shot-2016-11-14-at-20-40-02As this design is based on a cycle (step by step guide) so I decided that the design need arrows showing that it moving on to the next step in the fruits process. Also by having the white arrow it separates each step and illustration making clearer to understand and helps it not look cluttered.

 

 

 

 

screen-shot-2016-11-15-at-10-53-16The next step was to add a coloured background to give me an idea of colour and composition, plus I added the nest process step with was the collection of the fruit. I didn’t want to over complicate the illustration so I just drew a simple wicker basket, which was drawn using the pencil tool, and the square from the shape tool. I then placed pomegranates in the basket which I copied from the tree in the previous step. The background colour had to be blue to resemble the colour of the sky however I didn’t want it so bright that it distracted the audience away from the main focus of the poster so I’ve decided to go with a blue with grey in it to make it more subtle.

screen-shot-2016-11-17-at-13-39-12The next step was to add an illustration of an airplane to show the fruit traveling to the UK. I did this by getting an outline of a cartoon plane from clip art on google images and opening it in illustrator to gscreen-shot-2016-11-20-at-13-54-04o around the outline with the pen tool.I then started to experiment with the background colour a bit more to see which colour compliments the illustrations and the colours they contain. At this point of the design process, I thought that the composition was working well and that it was clear to red and understand as the spacing between each image is equal and that they are not squashed together.

screen-shot-2016-11-15-at-10-49-00This screenshot shows the development and the structure of my design. The continuous spirals of straightscreen-shot-2016-11-20-at-20-24-13 lines is there to help with placement and spacing for my illustrations and each individual steps. As I couldn’t  accurately place each image just by eye and if it was mathematically matched and measure then I wouldn’t fit all 9 step around the circle. So to give me an accurate guide on where to place each image I needed to make a work to guide that would help me separate the circle into 9 pieces accurately. I did this but using the rotation tool. This wasn’t as simple as just using the rotation tool as circles usually divide into 8 or 10, so to work out the angle of each section I did 360 degrees divided by 9 which have me 40. Going to the factory was the next step, I again got the outline of the factory from google images and traced around it with the pen tool in illustrator. I then added doors and windows using shapes and colours.

screen-shot-2016-11-17-at-20-28-10A few steps later and the design is coming along. After illustrating the factory, I had to illustrate the most important part of the cycle, the factory worker. To be able to draw the character I scanned my sketches from my sketch book onto my computer using a scanner at college. Once I had the file on my computer I then opened it up in illustrator and started drawing over the top of it using the pencil tool. It was more like tracing and I was able to get the drawing style I wanted by reusing previous ideas and mockups. I wanted the factory worker to be the most important step in the cycle as this is the audience we are aiming at and want them to feel involved in the process and feel important. After the factory worker, the next step was being sent to the supermarkets. I wanted to make this illustration / icon as simple as possible, I didn’t want to over crowed the circle and I wanted it to be as clear as possible. So I decided to go with  a shopping trolly as the symbol for this step as I think its very related and food shopping and people will understand the concept. The next step I drew was a recycling box with fruit waste. I have gone with this approach as I wanted to show that by being  environmentally friendly we can reduce waste.

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-12-50-01
The two missing steps were, the girl/ person eating the fruit and the recycled waste going back into the ground/ environment, so starting the cycle again. These steps I found the hardest to illustrate as I didn’t want to over complicate the steps.

 

 

 

 

 

 

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-12-57-11I also decided to play around with the text in the centre as I wanted it to stand more against the design as this is the main strap line for the whole campaign. Over all I’m happy with my design. It uses icon and semiotics as well. I wanted it to be how each employees interpretation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

screen-shot-2016-11-22-at-14-17-25

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

