London Trip

On October the 21st we went on at trip to London to  see St Bride Library and The House of Illustration. The first place we visited was St Bride Library,which was about a 20 minuet walk from the station. However on the way we saw some really beautiful buildings that also included interesting typography. I took photos of churches with protest banners, shops and print houses. I will add the photos below.

img_9277img_9279img_9281img_9284img_9283

St Bride Library also know as St Bride Printing Library or St Bride Typographical Library, is a library in London which is known for showing printing, book arts, typography and graphic design. When we went to St Brides we went to see the calligraphy exhibition by South London Lettering  Artists (SLL exhibition). I found this exhibition very interesting as I know how hard it is to do calligraphy as I’ve studied it in previous years. Although the exhibition was small I still really enjoyed seeing everyone’s different take and style on calligraphy. I took many photos around the exhibition however there were rules about taking photographs:

img_9287

I’m going to show you some of my favourites pieces of the exhibition with the name of the work and the artist. I will also give an explanation on some of my favourite pieces on why I like them and the sale.

http://www.southlondonlettering.co.uk

 

 

 

img_9289

No.44 By Sharon Shaw : Called world peace 1

Enamel paint and loose gold on glass .

 

 

 

 

img_9295

No.48 By Keiko Shimoda called K – from lino cut WS

Lino cut print on printing paper.

 

 

 

img_9296

No. 3 By Peter Amos called A christmas Carol 

Watercolour, stick ink and gold leaf.

 

 

 

 

img_9288

No.50 By Keiko Shimoda called To sea, to sea

Watercolour, gouache, pencil, colour pencil and crayon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

These are only a few of the photos I took and each and every one of them is different in a unique way. I love how people have mixed modern materials with the old style font to try to bring the font to the modern age. However people have also kept in with the more traditional styles by using lino cutting with the Calligraphy. The aged and faded effect of the lino cut worked really well with the style of calligraphy, plus the style and shape of the font, the contrast of thin and think lines just worked perfectly with the lino cutting technique.

After visiting the St Brides Library, we then went on to see the house of illustration, however when we got there we weren’t allowed to take photos of any of the exhibitions. So as I can’t show you I will just tell you a few of my favourite bits.

My favourite part of the whole house of Illustration was the Quentin Blake exhibition. Here we saw loads of our childhood characters as he illustrated book for the very famous author Roald Dahl. What I love about Quentin Blakes illustrations is that they are not perfect, in fact they are almost like scribbles yet they mange to become so strong and impressive, maybe that’s why we love them so much. He draws with ink mostly which gives you dark and impressive lines, he also uses watercolour alongside his ink drawings. He has become an iconic figure with his simple drawings that have so much character. He has given us people such as The Twits, The BFG, Fantastic Mr Fox and many more. I think what I like the most about his work is that he is not a photo realistic drawer, he gives cartoon elements to his characters which are not perfect and creates an image of that character that really sticks in your mind. I don’t know anyone else who draws in the same style as him. The other half of the exhibition showed us war propaganda, posters and cartoons, these were also very interesting  and used very different style to Quentin Blake and it was nice to see the contrast of different styles.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

